Xenko 3.0 vs Godot 3.0

I am new to the engines games
I use golang for web two years ago
I want to choose xenko or Godot
xenko is doesn’t even support two major OSs

xenko vs Godot

Let me know

(from https://github.com/xenko3d/xenko/blob/master/README.md and https://doc.xenko.com/latest/en/manual/platforms/index.html)
Supported platforms:

• Windows (runtime and design time)
  • Android (runtime)
  • iOS (runtime)
  • UWP (runtime)
  • Linux (runtime)

Mac has some limited/incomplete that have been disabled at the moment. The also was an experiment with PS4 but I don’t remember the actual status.

Other platforms could be added in the future depending on time and if someone (ideally at least two people) in the community are willing to do the support for it. Right now we don;t even have enough people to properly support all current platforms.

2 Likes

One thing that bothers me about Godot is that it’s OpenGL ES only, so the performance on desktop platforms might not be as good as when you use Direct3D or OpenGL 4.x, for instance.

They do have plans for Vulkan support in the future, but that means old computers will not be compatible.

Since Xenko uses SharpDX and OpenTK, it supports both Direct3D and OpenGL on desktop, as well as OpenGL ES on Android.

Of these two alternatives, if you’re doing a 3D game, I suggest you use Xenko, otherwise any of these two is a good choice.

2 Likes

If you want to use c# without a doubt choose Xenko otherwise gdscript, godot’s genetic programming language, is pretty easy and its community is huge. I’d if you know what you are doing go with Xenko, if you are still learning godot might be a better option.

2 Likes

yes, i agree. xenko is a bit more an engine for developers. all systems are pretty open and can be customized but you need to know basic software patterns to use them. also, since the xenko engine is a native .NET/C# application (godot is c++) it’s very comfortable to use if you know .NET/C# already.

2 Likes