Working with texture data

Hi! I’m new to Xenko, but i like this engine and going to write some additional features.
Now i’m doing terrain rendering for my tasks. I’ve already understand how to create geometry from vertex/index buffers and setup materials. Now i want to load texture of height map from script properties and get height data from greyscale texture. I don’t understand now how to get color data or height data from texture object.
Can anyone help? I’m understanding i need CommandList to work with texture data, i used GraphicsContext.CommandList, but how to proceed then?

P.S. I see some properties and methods from Texture, i see texture.GetDataAsImage, and i see in Image data pointers, but how to get real data, there could be different data representation, so now i’m stuck!
Thank you in advance!

Problem solved! Now terrain rendering works, starting to do some optimizations, such as LODs and visibility.
Screen attached.
And, of course, solution of problem with reading texture data:

https://pastebin.com/jBTNtXXV

4 Likes

that’s really cool! could you imagine to work out a pull request? i think many people would love to see this in xenko…

Might be a bit early for a pull-request.

Maybe later as a template first, and then we will need to do some testing and performance profiling.

By the way, I think that is something we should consider for new features in Xenko (when they don’t involve change in the underlying engine):

1. make a template that people can experiment with
  2. collect some usability feedback
  3. see if there are opportunities to move part of the code down to the engine (mostly for performance)
  4. test
  5. test more
  6. profit :slight_smile:

There are a lot of work even to show the result as sample. This is only tests for me to understand how Xenko rending works, and i have really a lot of questions to understand how to do it better.