[Solved] 3D workflow with blender

Hi,

I am totally new to 3D modelling. I try to get my models from blender (V2.75) into PStudio which works ok when I export to .obj and only use one texture and only one “object” within blender. The imported model has a default material added and I can then load the texture image as a separate asset and apply it to that default material and for whatever magic reason the whole UV-mapping I did in blender works perfectly fine (happy me).

What’s not working is when i split the model into multiple “objects” within blender (i guess it’s just separate meshs, whatever you’d call that) using individual materials. PStudio imports them nicely as one model and I can see all the separate objects as nodes in the model’s property panel. However the whole model only has one material assigned and I can’t figure how to add any extra materials to the model. I also don’t understand the meaning of the checkboxes behind each node, here is an example:

I’ve been browsing 3D tutorials and file format infos for quite a while now, however they don’t translate too well to the blender->PStudio process for me. Could anyone share their insights with me on what is the supposed way of getting a model using multiple materials from blender to paradox?

BTW, importing blender files directly doesnt work for me, I always get errors like this:
[AssimpAssetImporter Importer]: Error: Unexpected exception while importing file [P:/Test/Blender/cube.blend]. System.NullReferenceException: Object reference not set to an instance of an object.
at SiliconStudio.Paradox.Assets.Model.ModelAssetImporter.Import(UFile localPath, AssetImporterParameters importParameters)
at SiliconStudio.Assets.AssetImportSession.Stage(Nullable`1 cancelToken)

Thank you

So I fiddled around some more and found an alternative that works perfectly fine for me: