Please guide me to take an important decision

Hi All,

I am a hardcore C# developer.
I am planning to develop an application which let’s the user design and decorate his house from scratch.

1. Drawing walls, Placing windows and doors.
  2. Adding furniture (importinh existing 3d models at runtime)
  3. Changing/applying textures for floors, walls, furniture’s etc.
  4. The application should be able to display the model in 3D and floor plan in 2D.
  5. Exporting the design as a 3d model (obj, 3ds, dae etc)
  6. This application should work on as many platforms as possible (like windows, uwp, iOS, android, mac.)

I am thinking of using Xenko.
I will not use it’s editor/studio. I am going to do everything with code referring xenko budget packages.

My questions are.:

1. Is drawing possible with Xenko? I mean, mouse-down, mouse-mouse, mouse-up events

2. If I develop everything with code, I may even need to use some other .Net libraries like Newtonsoft Json, etc.
    Will it be smooth yo port my application on different platforms? What kind of template i should use? A windows forms application? Wpf application? Or something else?

3. I want to develop my application with docking panels (like visual studio). In that case, my left panel will have some UI controls like treeview, buttons etc and the main area should show the 3d model of the house.

In a nutshell, can I have my model viewer hosted in a user control? For example, Xenko editor has center area in which the scene rendering happens.
I want similar interface.

Please guide me.

Thanks in advance.

1 Like

The project you are describing is overly broad. “design a 3d house, walls, doors windows… on as many platforms as possible (windows, ios android mac)” This in itself is a herculean task. Desktop user interfaces don’t translate well to mobile, and mobile interfaces don’t work well on desktop.

Also creating a UI that an “average person” can use to 3d model their house is a very unsolved problem.