Noesis GUI Integration

Hi all,

I have a game built in Unity, UNION Spaceship Command, which uses Noesis GUI, a vector based UI which is based on (and mostly compatible with) WPF.

You can see an example of a Noesis based UI in UNION here: https://youtu.be/NcmcvPmh0bo?t=248

I am in the process of porting UNION to Xenko, but I haven’t had any success in integrating Noesis’ C# API into the engine. They have a Monogame integration on Github, but this will not work on the Xenko binary release as the SharpDX.Direct3D11 namespace and handle are not available.

I have a lot of experience with game systems and networking, but none with graphics programming.

I would really appreciate any help you could give with integrating Noesis.

Regards,

Mark Aherne

1 Like

Hi,

We also use SharpDX internally, so I was wondering if simply Xenko’sSharpDX.Direct3D11 solves your problem or if more work is necessary.

Xenko’s SharpDX is available in %SiliconStudioXenkoDir%\GamePackages\Xenko.1.6.1-beta\Bin\Windows-Direct3D11\SharpDX.Direct3D11.dll

I suppose part of MonoGameNoesisGUIWrapper.cs needs to be rewritten for Xenko as well.
You can see how EmptyKeys (another external UI framework with Xenko integration) does it: https://github.com/EmptyKeys/UI_Engines/blob/master/EmptyKeys.UserInterface.Xenko/Renderers/XenkoRenderer.cs

Let us know if you need more info/help!

Excellent, thanks for the info. I’ll let you know how I get on.

Also, please note that going for this approach will work only for D3D11 (or whatever graphics platform they support).
However, the benefit is that you can reuse the existing NeosisGUI SDK D3D11 renderer as is to get you started quickly, and should work fine if your only target is D3D11 API (Windows).

Ideally, adding a new NeosisGUI SDK renderer to directly use Xenko’s cross-platform rendering API would be better as it would work on all targets Xenko support (i.e. mobile, OpenGL, etc…).

Thank you for the advice.